Denmark launches the Ecommerce Europe Trustmark!


In Denmark, e-mark is no longer the only trustmark for online shopping. E-maerket and FDIH, the national e-commerce association, have now launched the Ecommerce Europe Trustmark, created by Ecommerce Europe, the European e-commerce trade association representing more than 25,000 companies selling online companies.  

In Denmark, the Ecommerce Europe Trustmark is managed both by e-maerket and FDIH. Shops already using the national trustmark, the e-mark, can now apply for free to the Ecommerce Europe Trustmark. The two trustmarks need to be used together. The companies applying for the Trustmark will be subject to an audit to ensure compliance with European consumer law.

“Since its founding 16 years ago, the e-mark has been the leading trustmark for Danish webshops and consumers. With the Ecommerce Europe trustmark, the possibility of showing potential international customers, that they abide by all required national standards, is now significantly easier for Danish online stores. Our expectation is, that it will increase consumer trust and subsequently webshop earnings.” Said Jesper Arp-Hansen, CEO of the Danish e-commerce foundation.

Boosting consumer trust

Thanks to the Ecommerce Europe Trustmark, online shopping across borders is more transparent and provides consumers and online shops with greater security. The combined Trustmark also enhances consumers’ trust. They can read what their rights are since, the online shop must adhere to the Ecommerce Europe Trustmark Code of Conduct. In case of a complaint, the consumer can contact the Trustmark Service Centre. This is essential for boosting trust in e-commerce at the European level.

All e-commerce associations of Ecommerce Europe participate in the European Trustmark. The e-commerce associations in Spain, the Netherlands, Belgium, France, Ireland, Finland, Denmark and Czech Republic provide the Ecommerce Europe Trustmark and the services of the Trustmark Service Centre for free to all their certified members. This year, Greece, Portugal, Norway, and Poland will be added to the list.