European Parliament approves Ursula von der Leyen’s College of Commissioners


Today, the European Parliament has approved Commission President Ursula von der Leyen and her 26 Commissioners. The Parliament voted with 461 votes in favor, 157 against and 89 abstentions to confirm the new College of Commissioners. For the vote, Von der Leyen could count on the support of the three biggest political groups: the European People’s Party, the Socialists and Democrats and Renew Europe.

The new Commission is set to start on Sunday, 1 December, one month after the initially planned start date of 1 November. This is due to the rejections of the first candidates from France, Romania and Hungary.

In the plenary debate leading up to the vote, Ursula von der Leyen once again stressed her priorities for the coming mandate. The main focus points will be: an ambitious strategy to fight climate change with the European Green Deal, a strong focus on digitalization and tech issues, new plans to strengthen European cooperation on economic and financial policies, and an increase of foreign policy initiatives.

Ursula von der Leyen is the first woman ever to lead the European Commission. In addition, her College has 15 men and 11 women, which is the closest to a gender-balanced College the EU has ever come.

On green policies, von der Leyen described climate change as an “existential issue” for Europe. She added that the European Green Deal is crucial for the new mandate. Von der Leyen did not mention many specifics, but she did explain that the deal will help cut emissions while simultaneously creating jobs.

Ecommerce Europe is looking forward to working with the new European Commission on the ongoing and future legislative files. Please find our Manifesto here in which we outline Ecommerce Europe’s priorities.

This is the full list of the new College of Commissioners:

  1. Frans Timmermans, Netherlands – European Green Deal
  2. Margrethe Vestager, Denmark – Europe Fit for Digital Age
  3. Valdis Dombrovskis, Latvia – An Economy that Works for People
  4. Josep Borrell Fontelles, Spain – A Stronger Europe in the World
  5. Maroš Šefčovič, Slovakia – Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight
  6. Věra Jourová, Czechia – Values and Transparency
  7. Dubravka Šuica, Croatia – Democracy and Demography
  8. Margaritis Schinas, Greece – Promoting the European Way of Life
  9. Johannes Hahn, Austria – Budget and Administration
  10. Phil Hogan, Ireland – Trade
  11. Mariya Gabriel, Bulgaria – Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth.
  12. Nicolas Schmit, Luxembourg – Jobs and Social Rights
  13. Paolo Gentiloni, Italy – Economy
  14. Janusz Wojciechowski, Poland – Agriculture
  15. Thierry Breton, France – Internal Market
  16. Elisa Ferreira, Portugal – Cohesion and Reforms
  17. Stella Kyriakides, Cyprus – Health
  18. Didier Reynders, Belgium – Justice
  19. Helena Dalli, Malta – Equality
  20. Ylva Johansson, Sweden – Home Affairs
  21. Janez Lenarčič, Slovenia – Crisis Management
  22. Adina Vălean, Romania – Transport
  23. Olivér Várhelyi, Hungary – Neighbourhood and Enlargement
  24. Jutta Urpilainen, Finland – International Partnerships
  25. Kadri Simson, Estonia – Energy
  26. Virginijus Sinkevičius, Lithuania – Environment, Oceans and Fisheries